Congratulations to the 2023 Nursing Excellence Awards Honorees

A  sincere Thank You to ALL our New Mexico Nurses!

Press Releases:
"Center For Nursing Excellence announces winners of the Nursing Legend Awards"

  This year’s honorees in each award category are listed below. 

Nursing Legends Awards
Diane Cassell
Joan Deis
Diane Viens

Distinguished Nurse of the Year Award
Ida Bradley - Northern Navajo Medical Center/IHS
"Touch a Life" Award
Krystle Samora - X-Ray Associates
Nurse Leadership Award
  Whitney Lewis - CHRISTUS St. Vincent Regional Medical Center
Emerging Nurse Leader Award
Caitlin E. Baker - Presbyterian Healthcare Services
Nightingale Award
Amanda Zamora - University of New Mexico Hospital
Education, Research, and Academia Award
Katie Kivlighan - University of New Mexico College of Nursing
Critical Care Nursing Award
Ann Whitehead - Presbyterian Healthcare Services
Advanced Practice Nursing Award
Melody Avila - University of New Mexico College of Nursing
Nurse Executive Leadership Award
Carolyn Montoya - University of New Mexico College of Nursing
Home Health and Hospice Nursing Award
Jennifer L. McKinney - Presbyterian Healthcare Services

Community Service Award
Felicia McDermott - University of New Mexico Hospital
Medical and Surgical Nursing Award
Luciana Emberly Chavez - CHRISTUS St. Vincent Regional Medical Center

Pediatrics Nursing Award
Julie Lords - Rio Rancho Public School

Perioperative Nursing Award
Oscar Garcia - Presbyterian Healthcare Services

Maternity/Women's Health Nursing Award
Dilan Jones - San Juan Regional Medical Center
Emergency Nursing Award
Derek Grassley - University of New Mexico Hospital

Rural Practice Award
Sarah Clark - Eastern New Mexico Medical Center 

Long Term Care and Rehabilitation Nursing Award
William Hoang - Lovelace UNM Rehabilitation Hospital
Case/Quality Management/Managed Care/Informatics/Infection Prevention
Emily Brooks - CHRISTUS St. Vincent Regional Medical Center
Ambulatory Nursing Award
Amanda Fraser - Presbyterian Healthcare Services 
Behavioral Health Nursing Award
Raychel Stiegelmeyer - San Juan Regional Medical Center
Public & Community Health
Andrea Larez - New Mexico Department of Health
Friend of Nursing Award
Kim Vallez 


From bottom left: William Hoang, Ida Bradley, Ann Whitehead, Caitlin Baker, Diane Cassell, Krystal Samora, Kim Vallez, Katie Kivlighan, Carolyn Montoya, and Diane Viens
From top left: Oscar Garcia, Whitney Lewis, Emily Brooks, Julie Lords, Luciana Emberly Chavez, Andrea Larez, Amanda Fraser, Raychel Stiegelmeyer, Dilan Jones, Jennifer McKinney, & Derek Grassley.
Photo by Ray Mares


 The New Mexico Center for Nursing Excellence wants to recognize Presbyterian Healthcare Services as the presenting sponsor. As Awards Patron sponsors the event was also supported by CHRISTUS St. Vincent Health System. For the nineteenth year in a row, KRQE News 13 was this year’s Media Sponsor and anchor Stephanie Chavez acted at the event’s mistress of ceremonies. The event was also made a success by the support of volunteers from Central New Mexico Community College and University of New Mexico College of Nursing.

Proceeds from the Nursing Excellence Awards support the New Mexico Center for Nursing Excellence and its mission.